Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mx22 corona questions

i am a rollomatic Backyard Mechanic _gear2's Avatar

Default mx22 corona questions

after removing the fibreglass job that had been done to my boot ive found that the damm thing is completely rusted through, one god awful mess. Ive tried looking for a replacement but have had no luck, I was wondering as I drive the coupe version of the mark II, would a boot lid from the sedan fit in the coupe.

Also one of the back passenger windows doesn’t wind properly, it pops out of the track it follows after the window reaches it highest point, and u start to wind it down again. After having a look I found that the plastic wheel like bits that surround the steel pin that follows the track had broken off (I took photos but the damm usb cables gone missing, sry if my explanation doesn’t make sense) thus the reason they pop out.
    I was wondering if u can simply replace the plastic bits some how, as getting a replacement part is proving difficult. Or is there any other cars that would have similar parts I could use thanks. Remembering this is the back window on the coupe so its not a normal passanger window.
    i feel much better now that ive given up hope

Incompetent Automotive Encyclopaedia

Default Re: mx22 corona questions

The rear of the coupe is considerably different. While I haven't compared the bootlids side-by-side I would be stunned if they were the same.

A good panel beater will be able to resurrect just about anything, but it won't be cheap.
    Must.... avoid.... urge... to... upgrade... parts I haven't.... used.... yet.....

potato Automotive Encyclopaedia joecoolmk2's Avatar

no, a sedan lid won't fit, completely different. i've found that the bootlid is prone to rust, which sucks.

it'd probably be easier to fix the rust than trying to find another bootlid, very hard to find parts for mk2's.

anywaysss, got an engine conversion planned?
    beer me!