Thread: Suggestions on conversions for my 1984 Hilux

Forum Member

Question Suggestions on conversions for my 1984 Hilux

Hi All,

I am wanting some information on what would be a good option for a new motor for my 1984 Hilux it currently has a 3y motor manual gear box and is petrol

I am thinking about putting a 6 in it but all thie information i can find on google is people using commodore motors
    and all the running gear I'm not a Holden person so am wanting other options

I have done a bit of research and discovered that the Holden VR motor seems to be the easiest to do the conversion with.
    I have limited mechanical experience is this something I should be taking on

It was suggested to me by a mechanic to use a cerrisder motor but once again they are not that easy to find or parts
    for them
    Also would like to know how big a motor I can go before i have to get an engineers certificate as not really wanting to
    go down that route, I am in Victoria so i realize there may be some differences between NSW and Vic,

Sorry for all the Questions Just not finding Alot of info on the net or anyone willing to guide me here in vic

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default Re: Suggestions on conversions for my 1984 Hilux

Vr is a Holden yes? Lol
    I am about to put a vz 5.7 in my 98 hilux. I couldn't imagine it would be too much difference between any engine you choose.
    As far as skills go, the more you do the cheaper it will be. Anyone with enough skills to swing a spanner and the willingness to ponder and work through the challenges should be able to handle the swap themselves, imo.

I toyed with many of engine before settling with the ls1. Original purchase price, replacement parts price, fuel economy, torque and size were the decision makers for me, that said we're all after different things.

As far as engine capacity goes, multiply your tare weight (I believe, it should be around 1650) by 5 and that will give you max cc's for a NA engine.