Thread: Upgrades to a 3TC suck though turbo setup???

Im to handsome to be a Domestic Engineer ctrain's Avatar

Default Upgrades to a 3TC suck though turbo setup???

Sup, my tool bonus has come through and now i can make my 3tc go faster, standard clutch slips under boost so im upgrading to HD, the turbo (VL/Sigma) stock T03 turbo has a little bit of shaft play so thats getting upgraded and it has the Sigma 32mm Garrett external wastegate, need to upgrade mainly because the wastegate hits the crossmember when reversing so i need something smaller in size. Im not good with turbos or wastegates so if anyone could suggest some that'd be great!

All the stuff is from the early 90's and hasnt been rebuilt as far as i know.

Im refitting the water and methanol injection system so that should keep intake temps a bit down, anyone know any little secrets with these setups?? Im tempted to go EFI but getting my hands on a 3TEU intake and all the other stuff seems impossible.

Cheers,
    Callum

Bull now in china shop! Domestic Engineer NME308's Avatar

Default Re: Upgrades to a 3TC suck though turbo setup???

Hi Callum,
    Should you chose to stick with the draw through setup I would actually suggest you do your upgrades one at a time. Start with a nasty clutch capable of handling 400hp as future proofing.
    From there work out the tune & wind up the boost carefully & observe the results closely. Spark plug tips being damaged or gaining miniature metalic balls tell of detonation. Once you simply blaze the tires any time you go to play then it is dyno time for more development. Turbo & waste gate replacement would follow once the originals are delivering no more gains.
    Efi gear for these babies is still available if you keep an eye out particularly overseas. Then any reputable tuner can give you results if you prefer someone else to tweak your ride.
    Cheers,
    Jason
    3TC Compound Turbo 1976 TA23 - Members Ride Thread HERE