Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: auto shift boxes

  1. #1
    Junior Member Domestic Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    593

    Default auto shift boxes

    just spent hours fuking round with othe peoples shift boxes to no avail
    so decided to build my own simple unit and it worked

    so ive decided to make my own units

    i can make them to suit most early auto boxes and can be made to suit 3 and 4 spd
    and wiring for lock up solenoids and also for pos or neg triggered shift solenoids

    anyway if anyone is interested pm me

  2. #2
    Junior Member Too Much Toyota oldcorollas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    12,494

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    so how do they work?
    "I'm a Teaspoon, not a mechanic"
    "There is hardly anything in the world that a man can not make a little worse and sell a little cheaper" - John Ruskin (1819 - 1900)

    AU$TRALIA... come and stay and PAY and PAY!!! The moral high horse of the world!

  3. #3
    Junior Member Domestic Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    593

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    just using relays
    but goin to try make them smaller and fit them into a small box
    theyre not hard to do
    and they work with factory toyota inhibitor switches which is half the problem when using the other ones
    just make it a nice quick easy job and no fukin round

    anyway im just making these cause ive read the other ones are givin peoplke headaches
    and i got the shits cause i cant give the customer a 600 dollar bill to fit a shift box that doesnt work in the end
    so i hooked up afew relays and the thing worked perfectly

    i think the other units need to be tested more thoroughly
    maybe im making a mistake but they look so easy to fit 3 hours later and still didnt work good

    i fitted mine in 30 mins
    Last edited by sideshow; 08-01-2007 at 03:33 PM.

  4. #4
    I don't want to be a Domestic Engineer bnicho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    VIC
    Posts
    604

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    Whaddaya mean shift boxes? Can you explain what they do exactly?
    Brett Nicholson (bnicho) - Melbourne, Victoria
    85 USDM MR2 AW11 4AGE
    74 VW Superbug 1600 L, 71 Mini Moke 1275
    65 Mini Traveller (project), 66 Austin Mini 850
    69 Mini Van for Shitbox Rally 2013!

  5. #5
    Junior Member Conversion King timbosaurus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,037

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    I think he means a box of electronics to manually control the shifting of an auto trans. It removes/replaces the transmission control unit to allow the driver to shift through all the gears whenever he/she feels like it, essentially creating a manually controlled auto. Depending on how comprehensively he designs it, it may also utilise a bypass to allow automatic shifting if desired.

    There are a few out there already developed by people:
    MV automatics
    KDog (on lextreme)

    as well as a few DIY articles:
    http://lextreme.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6737

    But I guess Sideshow has tried these and found that they are not as "one-size-fits-all" as described.

    I'm guessing sideshow is looking to develop an application specific box that works better and is easier to install than the already done boxes, at the expense of being less universal.

    Sideshow,
    I can see merits in your plan, however, the potential customers will be limited. I also feel that with all the info out there on how to build such a controller your main market will be those that are just too lazy to put one together themselves. I wouldn't expect many people will pay a large price for that convenience, then have to install it themselves anyway.

    I think, however, you might get a few drive-in/drive-out jobs though, as some people are just way too lazy!!!!
    Current rides...
    2) White RA25ST
    1) Red RA28LT (NOW WITH 1G )

  6. #6
    Junior Member Grease Monkey
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    143

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    I brought a autotrans controller for my a340e from the US called suprastick v4. I installed it on the weekend, took a bit of time, but got it all working and it's absolutely awesome. Cost me $530 AUS delivered.

    It essentially does manual and auto mode and it changes the auto like the factory does and the auto mode is fully programmable including lockup clutch. I have the manual mode hooked up to the soarer cruise control stalk. I also have a switch to lock up the convertor at a certain rpm and a specific delay when changing gears for when the car is on the dyno. It has 2 automatic shift tables that I can change by using the factory ECT power switch.

    You program the unit via hyperterminal in windows, which I use my CarPC for
    Toyota Corolla Conquest 2003 black manual 1ZZ-FE - Daily
    Toyota Soarer GT-TL 1991 white auto 1JZ-GTE - [email protected] 1.587 60'

    My JZZ30 SOARER

  7. #7
    Junior Member Domestic Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    593

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    yer the supra stick is good but alot wont spend the money

    i have afew of kdogs tiptronics units here too
    i use one of his unit on my hilux
    good unit too only thing is the gbox wont engine break when kicking down gears
    because u need to move the gbox shifter in 2nd or 1st for engine breaking
    but when i get spare time il make kdogs unit runing of a switch so i can do std full auto
    and switch to full tip tronic

    and the other one i spent fuking ages trying to get it to work i got shits and gave up otherwise
    customer would have had a 600 dollar bill just to fit it
    so i went back to basics and used a relay box

  8. #8
    Junior Member Domestic Engineer NeoNasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Vic
    Posts
    640

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    Im interested in these. For Jzz30 Soarer.

    Although I guess Id end up having to install it myself, which is fine.

    Full auto, then full tiptronic is what Id be after, allow changed when I wanted and engine braking YEAH!

    Would installation be just like the Supra Stick?
    HZJ75, RS41, JZZ30

  9. #9
    regular fella Conversion King chris davey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    2,608

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    I am using the MV autos one. Works fine after I added 2 relays to cut all power to the solenoids. I am no auto leccy but I couldn't see how this could be switchable to auto mode? I don't want auto mode anyway though
    Quote Originally Posted by MR 1JZ View Post
    that interior is so jap...just looking at it makes me want to kill a whale
    QUICKEST 1JZ'S IN OZ

  10. #10
    Junior Member Domestic Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    593

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    full tiptronic is no able to engine break

    only when u use the gear shifter

    tiptronic is normally related to buttons for up and down gear
    and the shifter stays in "d"

    if you are willing to control gbox using the shifter so when i l its low 2 is 2nd and d is drive
    then it can be done

    i had hassles with the mv one so instead of wasting customers money
    i made my own setup in 30 minutes and it works perfect

    i can make a unit that will also include lock up converter relay wiring too

    i can possibly make it switchable to go from auto to manual mode but i would not have any way of testing it unless i have a car here to fit it
    i can make one how i think it should work and go from there

    i read yr posts chris regarding the mv one its easy to get the overdrive working
    but this unit would not work when i plugged the solenoids up
    any other time it worked perfectly so after 4 hours of fuking round i threw it out and made my own setup and worked perfectly

    ive heard the mv unit works in stock std cars but it has probs when fitted to cars that have been converted eg 1j in cressida

    not sure y but i was not goin to waste customers money on finding y the mv box would not work when i can make one in 30 mins

  11. #11
    regular fella Conversion King chris davey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    2,608

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    If I knew what you do about wiring I would have made one myself as well. I was going to attempt it but I just thought I would go with one that other people have used.

    I have no idea why it wouldn't work on engine swapped cars? As you say it is a pretty simple device.

    Tiptronic with a switch to auto would be a good seller though I reckon. I would get one "when" I get an Aristo sometime.
    Quote Originally Posted by MR 1JZ View Post
    that interior is so jap...just looking at it makes me want to kill a whale
    QUICKEST 1JZ'S IN OZ

  12. #12
    Official Off Topic KING! Conversion King stradlater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Vic
    Posts
    2,118

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    so, I'll need a shift box for a a340e, how much do you want for them? I"ll be using it for drag.
    www.stradlater.com | Facebook | LinkedIn

    1976 RA23 Celica - 1UZFTE ???rwkw - Earlier: 11.6 @ 116.9mph But Now: ??
    2007 BMW 3.0Si Z4 Coupe - 195kW 0-100 5.7.....
    1996 VR Lexcen - Let the gearbox slippage begin...

  13. #13
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic sunkloto69@hotmail.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    im keen prices mate
    currently not piloting a toyota

  14. #14
    jetpilot Automotive Encyclopaedia 1JZ.747's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    sideshow why doesnt kades inhibitor switch work in his box.

    when my MV box was wirted in my factory inhibitor switch worked as per normal.

    maybe this was part of the reason some thing wasnt right.

    just a thought
    8.3 et PB 169 MPH PB

  15. #15
    Junior Member Domestic Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    593

    Default Re: auto shift boxes

    not sure
    it worked before hand
    the 2 inhibitor wires that do the start in park have nothing to do with the shift selector wires
    it worked ok before so i never thought to double check it
    but there was a relay which i fitted maybe it was faulty after it
    without looking at it i cant see whats wrong

    if the unit was for my car i would have spend all week tryin to solve it

    the unit has 5 wires so theres no way u can go wrong

    it worked ok with power and selector wires on but as soon as i join the solenoid wires it cant supply enough power to trigger the solenoids

    i might have had a bad unit but what was i to do
    spend 10 hours and charge 500 bucks no way
    theres jobs you do for mates and then theres jobs you do for friends and jobs you do for customers
    so at end of day its hard to know where to stop and where to charge evry single bit

    so for me it was easier to make my own unit and it took me 20 m inutes for a basic unit

    its not like i dont know what im doin

    it might have been faulty but we will never find out
    i felt bad when they rang at melb and had probs

    did they sort it out down there?

Similar Threads

  1. How-to: Converting an MR2 gearbox to FWD (SW20 to ST162)
    By buck naked in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-12-2006, 07:22 PM
  2. 1JZ auto starting to short shift
    By Mr DOHC in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28-11-2006, 06:22 PM
  3. Help! MR2 Gearbox Shift Selector Removal
    By buck naked in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2006, 01:30 AM
  4. 4AC Auto not Shift correctly...
    By Runt_86 in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 10:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •