Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HELP - how to wire up a fuel pump

Purple is the new black! Automotive Encyclopaedia sillycar chick's Avatar

Default HELP - how to wire up a fuel pump

Peoples, I am a bit of a newb when it comes to wires and stuff (but I am trying and getting better )

I have drawn up how I think I should wire it up so that I can have an on/off switch hidden under the dash. I think its right because I have done a thermo this way before.

BUT, to do it this way, I have to tap off the fuse panel to a wire which has power when the key is "on". I dont really like doing this, and its how I upset the wires last time (I only just got that all fixed for now). So is there another way of doing it so I can have a switch but not tap off the fuse panel? Or can anyone draw up a better diagram and post it up?

And Witzl: sorry if its copyright, I used your homepage on how to wire a thermo fan to start me off

51LII - 1972 TA22 Celica | Morpheous Metallic | 4AGE 20v Silvertop | Razorback ECU | W58
    Toyota Car Club (Qld)

Quote Originally Posted by TheToyman75 View Post
    There is not much hotter than a Freshly painted Celica, Unless its the reflection of a freshly painted Celica on a freshly painted Celica

Is a Chief Engine Builder wilbo666's Avatar

Default Re: HELP - how to wire up a fuel pump

That should work...

But you might want to think about using a Circuit Opening Relay, or a RPM triggered relay so that in the event that you have a crash and the engine stops (and there is a fuel leak) the pump doesn't keep going and make the car (and you?) burn...

Cheers
    Wilbo

Hmmm that's a good point.... where can I get me one of them relays... Jaycar? And are they expensive?
    51LII - 1972 TA22 Celica | Morpheous Metallic | 4AGE 20v Silvertop | Razorback ECU | W58
    Toyota Car Club (Qld)

There is not much hotter than a Freshly painted Celica, Unless its the reflection of a freshly painted Celica on a freshly painted Celica