Thread: how to find out if Cam angle sensor is faulty

Junior Member Grease Monkey

Default how to find out if Cam angle sensor is faulty

Hey everyone,

i think i've narrowed my gze not starting to a faulty cam angle sensor, but im new to this stuff and im really not 100% sure if thats what it is.

Probing the wires that connect to the CAS, things such as fuel system primed and i heard relays tick, however with a plug in the lead and turning the motor over and earthing the plug out there seems to be no spark. So if the relays are ticking when a circuit is created and there is voltage registered on the same wires but the CAS fails to provide a spark then could it be a faulty CAS ?

My car also has a Wolf 3d v3, is there any way i can check the wolf for incorrect operation ? Is there any isolation test i can perform to make it clearer what the problem is... Like i said sorry im new to this so if what i am saying isnt really making sense i appoligise, im trying to get my own head around it...

Can anyone advice anything i can do, id really like my car to be running !

Junior Member Too Much Toyota

Default Re: how to find out if Cam angle sensor is faulty

relays are low-speed switches for providing power to things - the CAS does not turn relays on & off.

The CAS provides timing and cam-position data for the ECU - best way to check whether it's working is to attach laptop/handset to the ECU, run the appropriate tuning software, remove the spark plugs and pull the fuel pump and coil power fuses, then crank/start the engine. The ECU should indicate revs at ~300rpm and be in 'cranking' mode.

If there's no signal, then first check that the CAS is wired up to the ECU (as per the wolf wiring manual) and the wires in question actually connect to the ECU (e.g. are not broken somewhere between the sensor and ECU, test with multimeter). If the CAS is wired up correct but not providing a signal then replace it. If the wiring is suspect, then replace it.