Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mx22 engine conversion from 4M what do you recommend

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default mx22 engine conversion from 4M what do you recommend

Hi guys
    Im new to Toyota's and have just got a mx22 mark 2 corona 1973

I want to change the 4M Engine in it

What do you guys recommend for a realistic conversion or upgrade ??
    I want to be able to register the thing and willing to get basic engineers certs to do so if i have to but would prefer not to.
    Thanks

Incompetent Automotive Encyclopaedia

Default Re: mx22 engine conversion from 4M what do you recommend

Hi mate

The two most important details are:

* why are you upgrading (eg. to be faster, for better towing, for better economy, just because your 4m blew up, etc)
    * what is your budget?

Including purchase you could probably fit a 5MGE/6MGE/7MGE for $1000-$2000 but anything else you're really looking at $5k plus, except maybe a 2JZGE which in my opinion is your best bang-for-buck but is not an easy conversion like the M-series motors.
    Must.... avoid.... urge... to... upgrade... parts I haven't.... used.... yet.....

Bull now in china shop! Domestic Engineer NME308's Avatar

I would definatly recommend a Bugatti Veyron V12 as a first choice for engine upgrade.
    Should be a relatively simple conversion if you have the dough to purchase one in the first place!!!

Cheers,
    Jason
    3TC Compound Turbo 1976 TA23 - Members Ride Thread HERE
    479RWHP on 50psi and 70psi hasn't broken her at the track!

Quote Originally Posted by Shifty View Post
    Hi mate

The two most important details are:

* why are you upgrading (eg. to be faster, for better towing, for better economy, just because your 4m blew up, etc)
    * what is your budget?