Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2ZZ-GE Valve Adjustment

Junior Member Grease Monkey

Default 2ZZ-GE Valve Adjustment

My wife's 06 Matrix with a 2ZZ-GE is coming up on 100K miles. I figure it's about time to check the valve adjustment. A search of the forums didn't turn up anything, but I figure I'm not searching correctly as this should be a common discussion thread (I'm a relatively new member so perhaps it's me). So please help me out. I'm used to checking the clearance when Valve "X" is fully compressed, check valves A, B, C. So what is the sequence to check?

Now that we have checked, let's say we need to adjust. I have read that there is a means to use a special tool to pull the bucket to get at the shim without pulling the cam. Is this possible? I'm very new to this motor and am clueless as to the guts of this thing and how it works, so any advice would be appreciated (yes I've yet to pull the valve cover) can ya tell, ha ha!
    Checksix
    18RG 59 Bugeye Sprite

Senior Citizen Chief Engine Builder "Z" UTE's Avatar

Default Re: 2ZZ-GE Valve Adjustment

The most helpful advice I could give, is to buy a service manual for the engine, or one for a car with the same engine.(Celica and Corolla) The book will give you valve clearances, and method of adjustment. It will also spell out the different shims that are needed in graph form to set the corect clearances.

Without the book, there will be a lot of measureing and re measureing, the book will make any future maintenance work on the engine a snap.

If this engine uses shim over bucket design, you can depress the valve and bucket with a special lever, flick the shim out and replace the same way. Each cylinder being adjusted should have the piston well away from TDC.

cheers Chuck.
    "What man can build, man can fix!"
    MS51Crown Coupe,