Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 3S-GTE Losing water/Overheating. Suggestions to diagnose cause?

Junior Member Carport Converter OnAll-FOUR's Avatar

Default 3S-GTE Losing water/Overheating. Suggestions to diagnose cause?

Grrr my car lost water and got hot again on the trip back to Sydney from Canberra so i would appreciate some suggestions on tests I can to to diagnose the issue. I would like to avoid stoping on the federal highway at 21:30 on a sunday night again

I have been driving it arround the sydney streets for the last 3 months scince last time it happened when I thought it was the radiator cap and have hand no dramas. I topped it up with water on Friday before heading down to canberra and it needed 600-1000mls of water in the radiator. Drove down to Canberra fine and drove around Canberra over the weekend fine as well.

But on the way home, the same as last time, going through the hills just after Golburn I noticed the temp guage starting to fluctuate. Eventually it was fluctuating to much and as soon as it got up to 3/4 on the guage I stopped and got a top up of water from NRMA. After that fine all the way home.

So I would appreciate any suggestions on test I can do to diagnose the water loss issue.

- TK test again from NRMA man was okay suggesting no blown head gasket. Could their test kits be faulty? We were also trying to look at it in the dark last night.

- Pressure test was okay after the first time this happened. Car seemed to hold pressure okay last night after the top up of water, the top hose was under pressure. I will get that tested again.

-Water pump is working, I could see it pumping coolant round after topping up the water.

- Cap is new, replcaed after this happened the first time. Running a 1.1bar cap