Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ma61 diff in a ta22?

Junior Member Domestic Engineer weapon x's Avatar

Default ma61 diff in a ta22?

was going through classifieds and a guy made a post about selling his ta22, and had a w55 gearbox and ma61 supra diff with irs and lsd to go in.

(here is that post)

i asked the question but got no answer, so i will ask in this section.

how easily does the ma61 diff fit under a ta22?
    and mods required, if so, what are they?
    what costs could i expect to buy this diff arounds?
    what are the benefits and disadvantages of this diff in a ta22?
    is there something better i should be looking at?

cheers
    jamie

Car Butcher Carport Converter WDE_BDY's Avatar

Default Re: ma61 diff in a ta22?

Would take a fair bit of work and ingenuity, search for IRS in RA40 for a detailed writeup on what is a similar conversion although I think the TA22 is narrower.

Callum

Today Im a Domestic Engineer Enchanter's Avatar

Im not an expert on the TA22 but Id be saying it isnt going to happen.
    Im not saying it cant happen, Im sure it could be done but it just wouldnt be worth the huge amount of hassle and possible geometry stuffups.

Toymods V8 Member Too Much Toyota CrUZida's Avatar

If you are going to the huge effort of putting IRS in a car, please put a better system in than the MA61 IRS.
    Peewee
    1985 MZ12 Soarer - 1UZ Powered
    2013 86 GTS

But I have no carport? Carport Converter merc-blue's Avatar

i cant see this happening. i thought the MA61 was wider than a TA22 although a Tseries diff and a W series gearbox can work with a custom tailshaft and would be quite a good combo although the T series gearbox is pretty tough

so what do people recommend then?

i've heard the hilux diff is a good option, although some say it's fairly heavy?

if the ma61 requires huge customization and huge headaches, then i'm not in for that...
    just want to get it done right the first time and not have to worry about it later.