Thread: True Tech Question

AVGAS DRINKING Carport Converter 30psi 4agte's Avatar

Default True Tech Question

wow where to start? This question is a bit involved and for the guys in the know will drive you a bit crazy as when you think you have worked out a theroy for the answer you can always seem to come up with another theroy that contradicts your first one! (Being a mechanic I do anyway )

Ill give you a brief run down of the senario ( so bare with me) and then a Q at end.

My car was on the dyno and after numerous runs of 280+kw we had come to the conclusion that that was about it for now power wise. The A/F was in the mid 11s but the ECU was telling us that the injectors were maxing out (550cc @ 55 psi) and the turbo was pumping 30 psi which is a bit past its efficency range and hence the air temps were high even with the large front mount i have ( about 90 deg )
    We then decided to let the car cool abit and do a final run

On this final run I sprayed Nos onto the intercooler the car GRUNTED and almost worked off the dyno! ( even on the just cooler that Nos is awsome shit ) Unfortunatly on this run the head let go a 6700 and i only got a half run but still managed to pull out 313rwkw ( who knows what i would have made if it held togther till 8300 where my max power is)

We think the car may ( prob ) drew some Nos through the I/C and radiator into the turbo and leaned out causing the head to go but it hard to say as it happened so quick that the A/F didnt change much at all!.

Now anyone with a boosted car knows all too well what cold can do for you and how much more power can be made due to cooler air being denser and the engine being more efficent.. ( plenty would be guilty 3am drives to take advantage of this fact!)

My question is: