Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2jzge or 1jzgte into mx83

Im a hopeless Domestic Engineer

Default 2jzge or 1jzgte into mx83

hey guys.

into

my recent purchase was a mx83 cressida.

brought it not running (fucked starter motor). replaced the starter motor and was running sweet but it was soon obvious that the water pump was stuffed. so replaced that, renewed the rego and thought atlast im set! but it was not to be. the previous owner had claimed to have drained the oil out of it for some reason, filled it with oil before taking it for a run. after replaceding the water pump. took it on its first drive to hear a spun bearing!! (no BHG just bearing)

been looking for a healthy 7m locally and cant find one.

so i could rebuild the motor for around $500-$600 providing that the crank only needs a polish and nothing else major is wrong with the motor. i allowed that much for rings, bearings, one over size pistons and full gasket kit, bore, decking..

so the other option it to upgrade to a 1jzgte or 2jzge.

think im liking the 2jzge idea most but wouldnt be displeased with a 1jz.

the tech part

from my research so far i have found that for a 2jzge conversion i need jzx81 engine mounts, 2j or 1j auto bellhousing and the motor should bolt in. its a 1989 model will it still bolt in?? or does it have to be a 1990 or later?

oh also need a front sump i know..
    also about wiring? heard mention that you can use a 7m loom on a 2j but what about the fact that 2j is MAP or could you just use the 7m AFM on the 2j?? and run the 7m ecu?

if not how hard is it to mix in the 2jz loom/ecu into the cressy loom. want to retain all the normal workings (climate control, cruse control, dash warning lights)..
    also what accessories can be swapped over from the 7m?
    do i use the PS & A/C pumps from 2jz (will 1jz work?) or 7m and will lines match up still?

sorry for the poor setting out its kinda a mess...

also found this while searching...

Piss easy conversion