Thread: Changing final drive ratio in a transaxle box...

Estranged Member Chief Engine Builder mullett's Avatar

Default Changing final drive ratio in a transaxle box...

Given as I do that I have little knowledge of transaxles, how possible is it to change the final drive ratio. I bring this up because, as discussed in another thread, I'm looking at doing a big NA motor conversion to my AW11. The camry motor looks like a winner, but I'm going to have gearbox issues, mainly because the camry motor peaks at 6250rpm, and that will equate to about 190-200km/h top speed with the E153 box AFAIK. That's a problem in itself, but it's also going to make the thing a pain to drive with really close ratios and 3400rpm at 110 cruising. So...any ideas? I guess an aftermarket gearset would also do the trick...

RM.

she loves me coz im a Conversion King love ke70's Avatar

Default Re: Changing final drive ratio in a transaxle box...

a larger rolling diameter on your tyres will give you a higher top speed. smaller rolling diameter = lower top speed. you will have to get your speedo recalibrated tho.
    different gearbox or different gears will do this but is more fiddly/costly

Junior Member Grease Monkey

i'm sorry love ke70, but making your rolling diameter bigger to compensate for closer gear ratios is just completely stupid. Not only because its a cheap temporary way out, but because bigger sidewalls suck, and because they may not necessarily fit under the mr2's guards.

if im not mistaken, you can get aftermarket LSD centres in differnt ratio's for AW11s?? that may be one way, or as you say yeah, get a differnt gearset or regular final drive...

she loves me coz im a Conversion King love ke70's Avatar

twas merely an idea
    and larger rims with a larger profile means the same sidewall size but a larger rolling diameter. i wasnt suggesting just wacking bigger tyres onto the same size rim.

anywho...

Junior Member Chief Engine Builder wiso's Avatar