Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Turbo matching to engine

Junior Member 1st year Apprentice

Default Turbo matching to engine

This is the dilemma at the moment. In terms of the mysteries of matching a turbo to an engine, I'm not a complete expert. So I was wondering if anyone out there could give me a few pointers etc.

I currently have a 2003 Corolla Sportivo (2zzge), at the moment I'm thinking of slapping a turbo on. The thing is the turbo that I got may be a bit too small, its a CT20A off a JDM JZA80. I bought it off a member here.

So would the CT20A be a complete mis match in this case?

I'm looking at running low boost (approx 6psi) and will not be rebuilding the bottom end. If the CT20A is indeed worthless, then I'll look at getting another turbo.

Cheers

i wrote the Automotive Encyclopaedia roadsailing's Avatar

Default Re: Turbo matching to engine

CT20 as in one of a pair? will be way too small.

try a T25, plenty of options to bolt on the flange then go from there.

how much power are you after?

EDIT:

i think the CT20 was akin to the CT26, that is one that was used on the 3SGTE etc.

i'd still say go T25 though, CT anythings are on the old side
    Last edited by roadsailing; 20-09-2007 at 11:48 PM.
    like to drift? live in victoria?
    www.vicdrift.com

now targeting: targets

formerly shinybluesteel

wire jiggler supreme Backyard Mechanic celicapain's Avatar

Any turbo off a 2 litre engine will probally do the job your looking for, the ct20 would be waste of time.
    From the toyota stable id say a ct26 would probally be your best bet, though itd just be getting interested at 6psi, otherwise a to4e or equivilant. While youll get a fair bit of lag With a largish turbo like this the upside is provided your running low boost the turbo is gentler on your engine due to the low compressor temperatures and will still let you rev to 8K or whatever 2z revs to without needing an external gate.

or you could just go t25