Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1JZ error code 31 and no power to fuel pump?? (edit: now coil problems)

Don't Trust Me I'm A Backyard Mechanic Jabtronic's Avatar

Default 1JZ error code 31 and no power to fuel pump?? (edit: now coil problems)

Hi all,
    I've done a 1JZ engine conversion into an MX83 Cressida, and am having problems getting the car running.

There are two things that are happening.
    1. Error code 31
    2. ECU not supplying power to the fuel pump (FP pinout)

What do I need to do to diagnose error 31? And could it be what is causing the ECU to not provide power the pump? When I bridge +B and FP the pump runs and the car starts and idles.

As far as I know, the ECU is fine as I bought another one and it made no difference.

What else should I check?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    Last edited by Jabtronic; 21-07-2007 at 08:45 PM.

Default Re: 1JZ error code 31 and no power to fuel pump??

Added a bit more information.

Mad****** Grease Monkey FASTFOO's Avatar

What car was the 1JZ from and is it of the type that uses a seperat fuel pump computer (controller) ?
    Code 31 is map/boost sensor so check that pim makes it all the way to the computer. (fuel pump should go when cranking anyway)
    MATT.

Was from a JZA70, no idea if it used a fuel pump controller because the 1JZ was already converted into another MX83 before mine. As far as I know it ran fine without it.

Might just post up a cross link to the same thread I've posted on supraforums.com.au for any reference.
    http://www.supraforums.com.au/forum/...ad.php?t=34051

Which pin am I checking? (pim as in PIM?.. or just a typo?) And where does it have to go to?

Sorry about my newbness to this wiring stuff, I understand the general stuff but not the more compicated stuff. I sent the car to an autoelectrician just in case and he checked it all but I don't think he really knew what he was doing.