Thread: ST162 digital dash, electronic speed sender - freq multiplier circuit?

MR 18RG Chief Engine Builder The Witzl's Avatar

Default ST162 digital dash, electronic speed sender - freq multiplier circuit?

Ok, this one's pissing me off....

putting an ST16x digital dash into an ST162 which is converted to 3S-GTE with an MR2 g'box with the electronic speedo sender.

The digital dash has a speedo cable input, which is then hooked to a optical interrupt pulse generator, creating a 24-pulse/rev speed signal into the digital dash.

The speed sender in the gbox is a 4-pulse per revolution sender.

-----------------------
    So, i need a 6x frequency multiplying circuit that can handle a pretty wide frequency range.

I've found the following circuit using an atmel AT90S1200-12, but im a bit newbie with Atmel shite and dont really want to go down that path.
    http://www.edn.com/contents/images/52799di.pdf

The jaycar digital speedo corrector can only adjust +/- 100%, not enough.

Anyone got any ideas? It's really doing my head in, and i sooo dont have time to try and work this out during work hours (i'm beyond busy at work!)

Thanks.
    ...... butt scratcher?!

is firing on all eight. Carport Converter AndyTTR's Avatar

Default Re: ST162 digital dash, electronic speed sender - freq multiplier circuit?

Can't you put the original ST162 mechanical sender into the new gearbox? If they're S53/54 boxes then it should be a straight swap? IIRC the speed sender isn't different for the digital dash.

If the car has the E series MR2 box in it then the mechanical sender from an AE95 4AGZE gearbox (not sure of the code) will slot in. Couldn't say if the speedo will read accurately though.

Junior Member Automotive Encyclopaedia

Default Re: ST162 digital dash, electronic speed sender - freq multiplier circuit?

VDO make a multiplyer box with 4 dipswitches on the front , about $90
    Dave

Junior Member Domestic Engineer

i have a unit that can do up to 3 or 4 times