Thread: Braking shudder

Today Im a Domestic Engineer Enchanter's Avatar

Default Braking shudder

During normal street driving my (standard) brakes on my ma61 are pefect, no shudering, wobbling or anything, however, on the track under heavy braking the car shakes around quite a bit, not really any fade just alot of shaking.

I cant see how the disks could be warped if its smooth during street driving. Is there somthing more to this or do the disks simply warp or buckle with the heat and return to normal when cooled ?

Junior Member Grease Monkey PitStop's Avatar

Default Re: Braking shudder

im no expert, so anyone feel free to correct me if im wrong here

to the best of my knowledge, usually shuddering under heavy braking can be caused by either wheel allignment, wheel balance, warped discs, or, i would guess faulty ABS as a possiblity too? not sure about that last one.

Generally wheel balance and wheel allignment, under normal smooth driving you will feel it pull in one direction when you brake if this is the issue. If the discs are warped it may not necessarily shudder under light braking under 'normal' braking. depending on the nature of the warp the speed of the spinning disc may not be high enough to transfer the disturbance through the car/steering wheel/suspension.

I could be wrong, but I'm drawing this from a mate who had a '96 Fairmont that was getting the same thing, shuddering (pretty hard shuddering too) under heavy braking.. but when he drove conservatively, you wouldnt even notice. The discs were indeed warped, which he decided to the replace with DBA rotors

As i said though dont take my word for it as im no expert, just my 1.81^recurring cents + GST

But I have no carport? Carport Converter merc-blue's Avatar

any worn or missalighned steering suspention or braking component can casue shudder in the brake pedal

Quote Originally Posted by merc-blue