Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: 1G-GTE into RA60

  1. #1
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Talking 1G-GTE into RA60

    Yes I know everyone keeps asking the same question and gets the same reply. Do a search. Well i've been searching all day and haven't found what i was looking for.

    I need specific information for moding engine mounts and sump to fit a 1G-GTE out of a 89 Supra into a 83 RA60 celica. Have mounts for both so please help me out here. If this info has been specifically answered already please give me the link coz i can't find it.

    Thanks heaps

  2. #2
    Forum Sponsor Carport Converter TurboRA28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,916

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    There is probably different ways to attack this conversion..

    But my mate has just finished his 1GGTE RA60 conversion. He used the original 1GGTE mounts on the engine, then cut the mounts off the RA60 xmember and moved them around to suit and welded.

    The sump we used a front sump, with some cutting/reshaping etc. So it clears the xmember and also the front swaybar. The sump is pretty custom looking after it was finished.
    1977 RA28 Celica - 1MZ-FE Members Rides
    1996 FZJ80 Landcruiser.
    Email : [email protected]

  3. #3
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Thanks, forgive my ignorance but what do you mean by a front sump?

  4. #4
    Forum Sponsor Carport Converter TurboRA28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,916

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    The 1GGTE has a few different sumps for it. There is a front sump, mid sump and mid-rear sump.

    The front sump we felt was best suited for the RA60, as it suits the shape of the xmember.
    1977 RA28 Celica - 1MZ-FE Members Rides
    1996 FZJ80 Landcruiser.
    Email : [email protected]

  5. #5
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Ahh, so i have the mid-rear sump. But the front sump is a better fit?
    What happens with the oil pickup? Do I need to get a different one of those or do i just mod it too? Do you have any pics of this sump/engine mounts?

  6. #6
    Forum Sponsor Carport Converter TurboRA28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,916

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Someone please correct me if i'm wrong, but I think you'll find the front sump is the only one that will come close to fitting.

    Yeah get the oil pickup also.

    No pics sorry, on the weekend i'll be at the workshop I can grab some then if you still require.
    1977 RA28 Celica - 1MZ-FE Members Rides
    1996 FZJ80 Landcruiser.
    Email : [email protected]

  7. #7
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    The sump itself will be easy enough to modify. But the pickup may be tricky. Are they located in the middle or at the back of the motor.?
    Does anyone have any information to give on this?

    The weekend may be a stretch for our timetable. But i won't turn up help. So give me everything you are willing to throw at me. Thanks
    Last edited by casper.james; 06-11-2006 at 08:16 PM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Carport Converter TA-022's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    1,616

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    yeah Joel .. pics of mount arrangement please ... and a few measurements perhaps

    tossing on mounting ideas atm.
    Black Betty >HERE!<

    (\__/)
    (='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
    (")_(") signature to help him gain world domination.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Too Much Toyota
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Qld
    Posts
    5,590

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    very different pickups for the different sumps - when you buy a sump you should also get a matching pickup.
    ------------------------------
    ST185 road barge / MZ11 forest barge / RA65 garage barge

  10. #10
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Thanks for the PM thechuckster. And I would love a copy of that PDF.

    Thanks guys this stuff is getting good.

  11. #11
    Forum Sponsor Carport Converter TurboRA28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,916

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    No worries all, i'll get some pics of the custom sump & mounts on the weekend..
    1977 RA28 Celica - 1MZ-FE Members Rides
    1996 FZJ80 Landcruiser.
    Email : [email protected]

  12. #12
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Thankyou charles for the PDF. Tho I have a feeling that the RA60 uses a totally diferent crossmember to the RA40. Can anyone confirm?

    Joel, you have one sick car man.

  13. #13
    Forum Sponsor Carport Converter TurboRA28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,916

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Yeah RA60 has the xmember bending towards rear of car with front sump.. RA40 has sump at rear with forward bending xmember?
    1977 RA28 Celica - 1MZ-FE Members Rides
    1996 FZJ80 Landcruiser.
    Email : [email protected]

  14. #14
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Ahh, thats why some write ups say the mid-rear sump is the best one to use and others say the front sump is the best one to use.
    This is good, info is being clarrified. Thanks guys.

  15. #15
    Forum Member 1st year Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: 1G-GTE into RA60

    Does anyone have any measurements for the RA60 mounts. ie. Where they need to be moved to?

    P.s. Whats happening with those pics?

    Cheers,
    Last edited by casper.james; 13-11-2006 at 09:29 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. RA60 vs RA65 Block
    By hybrid_turbo in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2006, 12:02 PM
  2. RA60 Front struts on KE30
    By 78Rolla in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-03-2006, 10:28 PM
  3. GZE into RA60...
    By mullett in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 16-02-2006, 02:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •