Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: One for the electronics guru's

My Missus is a Domestic Engineer BradW's Avatar

Default One for the electronics guru's

I am in the process of wiring up a car and the owner wants intermitent wipers. I have searched for a intermitent wiper module out of another car that I could use but thought it might be easier to make one.

I plan to use a 555 timer. I did a basic electronics course about 14 years ago and I have read a bit on the internet but I am still quite new to it all. I have drawn up a basic schematic and plan to make the circuit after the new year but was after a bit of input from more experienced people.

From what I have read the circuit works as follows.

When power is applied C1 charges through R1 and R2. While this is happening the output from pin 3 high. When C1 is charged pin 7 is connected to pin 1 and C1 discharges through R2 and R3. While this is happening the output from pin 3 is low. When C1 is dicharged pin 7 open circuits from pin 1 and the process starts again.

I have used R3 to give a slower discharge and a longer off time. Obviously there will be some testing to get the values of the components to give the required on and off time periods but I have calculated that with the values listed I should get an on time of approx 1.3 sec and an off time of approx 7.6 sec.

I look forward to any feed back on this but please keep it simple. Also if you can post links to any sites with info, that would be good.
    Brad

Old Corollas never die...

My KE30
    Updated 15/7/2007............ yes, I need to pull my finger out.

Junior Member Domestic Engineer tricky's Avatar

Default Re: One for the electronics guru's

In short... 555's suck. They have a large current drain (comparatively), but that isn't really a problem in a car. Advantages are that they are cheap, simple and stable. A more elegant solution would be a variable speed MOSFET switching circuit, although the timer you intend to use is adequate.