Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1GGTE in RA23 - guide (in creation)

Junior Member Grease Monkey Stu's Avatar

Default 1GGTE in RA23 - guide (in creation)

I am really sorry about this thread already. I have done plenty of searching but cannot come across the tech sheets to do this conversion.

So far I have a GA70 half cut with a Gen 3 1GGTE. I have pulled the loom out and lifted the shell over the motor. So now its time to get the 18RG out and setup the engine and bay for installation. This is probably where my approach is different to others. At this stage I need new engine mounts to sit further forward. Instead of finding these mounts and then cutting the original ones, I thinking of designing a new set (I am a designer so this should be pretty simple) to sit the engine lower and give a set of mounts that I don't have yet.

This could be beneficial in a few ways as it would remove the need to cut the original mounts (sometimes frowned upon by engineers), and I would have the design done for anyone else that is planning on doing the same conversion.

The information that I need is from someone that has already done the conversion with chopped mounts. I need measurements to determine the height and position of the engine. The ones that I can think of are

1. Distance between a point on the firewall and a point on the engine. These need to be either measured or distinct points.
    2. A straight bar needs to be laid across the strut towers and then two measurements from the underside of the bar to two distinct points on the engine on each side. eg somewhere on the plenum and somewhere on the exhaust side.

From this I can setup the engine and then design the mounts.
    The other things that I will be trying to do is setup drawings and specs for other items such as the radiator. This way someone planning on doing the conversion could walk into a machine shop and get this all done at once.

Has this been done before? and if so, where can I find the tech sheets?