Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY inexpensive engine management

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default DIY inexpensive engine management

I posted this over on the mr2 boards, but I thought it might be useful for folks here as well.

This details the installation of a chipped Honda ECU on a gen2 3SGTE engine in a 1991 MR2 turbo. I've been running this setup for 3 years now, and the total cost for essentially standalone engine management was under $300US.

WIRING

ECU

ECU pinouts for Gen2, Gen2b, Gen3 and ST165 3SGTE to Honda/PGMFI can be found here:

http://www.apexology.com/files/schem...E_to_PGMFI.xls

The ECU plugs are read like this:

The MR2's 3SGTE and most OBD1 (92-95) Hondas use the same ECU connector.

If you don't have a connector to make a jumper harness, you can wire it this way:

Not for the faint of heart, but it's not particularly difficult once the PC board connector is taken off and can be moved around easily. There are several soldered screws on the underside of the board- heat them with a soldering iron, then use a screwdriver to remove them with the iron still touching them. Cut the connector pins about halfway down and start jumping wires.

Alternately, http://www.onlinecomponents.com/buy/AMP-TYCO/174518-7/ usually stocks the female (ECU) side plug. As of writing this, they have 264 pieces in stock and want $9.22each. They have a minimum order of $30 (or did when I bought them). I posted this years ago, I have no idea why it was never stickied.