Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4AFE into Toyota TA47 -80 RWD.

Forum Member Grease Monkey

Default 4AFE into Toyota TA47 -80 RWD.

Hello! Im doing my first engine swap in a Toyota Carina ta47 from a 3T-C engine to a 4AFE.

Why go threw the trouble for that low bhp gain? a good question but it's mainly because im a engineer student on a budget and 4AGE's are quite rare in Sweden.

Also, i haven't seen anyone do this conversion. Guessing it's similar to a 4age 20v, but let's find out?

So the object is a station wagon with 9000 km on the clock and looks like this:

I have manage to get my hands on a T50 gearbox with a A-bellhousing. Also bought a Corolla e92 with a first gen 4AFE as a donor car.
    Soon more to come:
    Last edited by Ceasar; 14-03-2019 at 03:38 AM.

Unhappy Re: 4AFE into Toyota TA47 -80 RWD.

So here is the sitting 3T-c that are in the car.

The 4AFE from the Corolla.

The T50 22 spline gearbox with A house. Measured it and externally it seems to be the same as the t40 that's in the car

First step was to remove the 3T-C from the car and the 4AFE from the doner car.
    Keept as much as i could from the electric's of the 4AFE.

Got a 4AGE flywheel and clutch with the gearbox when i bought it, But with the 4AFE loose i saw that the flywheel pattern is different. from 8 bolts(4AGE) 6 bolts(4AFE). the flywheels seems to have the same diameter so just keept the 4afe. Im afraid of the starter engine rough, as it will change to the opposite side thanks to the t50 housing and seems like the starter is not meshing 100% with the flywheel. But here they are mounted toughter

So from just lowering in the car i notice a lot of things that would need to be fixed.
    *Distributer to close to firewall (Knew that)
    *Thermostat/water housing to close to firewall
    *Propshaft wrong spline to fit gearbox (20 on original) (22 on new)
    *Intake is hitting firewall aswell.
    *Header is going straight down where new engine mounts need to be fitted.