Thread: ta22 diff conversion

Forum Member

Default ta22 diff conversion

Hi all
    Im only new to this page so bare with me. Ill give you a quick rundown on my car and then my question...
    I have a ta22 celica with 13b turbo, supra 5 speed and 6 point cage installed (its a track/drag car)
    The engine and trans mods have all been completed and went quite smoothly but now its time to upgrade the diff, could anybody give some advice on best/easiest diff conversion? I want to keep the 4 stud wheel pattern. I read on another page that ae86 diff centre will bolt straight into the ta22 housing? Does anyone have any experience with this?
    Tia and glad to be a member of your forum! Jake

P.s if anyone has any questions about rotary/ta22 conversions im more than happy to help!

Junior Member Backyard Mechanic

Default Re: ta22 diff conversion

how much power you making? what size tyres/wheels/offset are you running? are your rear guards standard or tub'd/flared?

you need to know what width you are after first and foremost.

quick idiot guide to ta22 diff conversions:
    1) nothing fits off the shelf
    2) you wont be able to walk into a diff shop and get a solution
    3) anything out of a sprinter/ke70 is rubbish
    4) hilux diffs are expensive and BLOODY heavy, may as well go a ford 9inch as it's cheaper.
    5) Volvo diffs are the best kept secret in classic celicas. they are however 40mm wider than a standard diff
    6) don't worry about stud pattern, it's a race car so just get the axles modified to the correct 4x114 stud pattern. it's the easiest part of the build.
    7) i have a diff jig for a ta22
    SHEPPO..

Forum Member

Hey mate I am running 205 wide tyres unsure of the offset. Power im also uncertain of because im yet to have it driving. Im hoping to make 200 to 300kw at the rears. So you dont think installing an ae86 lsd is an option?

Forum Member