Thread: Mildred the RT40, RestoMod project

Forum Member

Default Mildred the RT40, RestoMod project

Hey all,
    I am brand new to the Toyota brand (apart from owning a few new ones)
    I am a motor mechanic by trade (working in a different field now - so cars are for fun) I also have panel and paint training.
    For a long time I have been toying with the idea of doing up an RT40 (my wifes first car), recently I have purchased a couple with the intend to carry out this thought.
    I first purchased a 1970 (although stamped as 4/69 on plate, I was told 70 model due to tail lights).
    Here is Mildred from pictures as sent to me by previous owner, she had been parked near a shed that caught fire at some stage, hence the surface rust.

Mildred came with an array of many parts including a NOS tail light and some door seals.
    A stack of doors and a replacement bonnet.
    Mildred was located in Brisbane, where as I am in Alice Springs, so a trailer and a suitable tow vehicle where purchased, I flew over and collected it all and drove home the following 3 days.

Soon after a 1968 model (same year as my wifes car) appeared on eBay, well I bought that too, except it was in Melbourne.
    So same thing was done and I found myself flying to Melbourne on Christmas day and towed V2 home on Boxing day (and teh following 2 days)

Work started yesterday on the rebuild of Mildred, so after sorting out the workshop (has been very messy in there) I parked Mildred in her corner and started the tear down.

Forum Member

Default Re: Mildred the RT40, RestoMod project

There are a few rust repairs I will need to carry out, only 1 being a surprise, The plenum area is pretty bad, but I have ordered some spot weld drill bits and will use the donor car to rob sections from.

I knew about this before I started, so no surprise here.

An area that looks to be an old smash repair.