Thread: 1990 corolla seca sx conversion

Forum Member

Default 1990 corolla seca sx conversion

Hi guys I've got a 1990 corolla seca sx with the 4age in looking for advice on the best engine to convert to keeping in mind I'm kinda new to this sorry

Junior Member Grease Monkey MattC's Avatar

Default Re: 1990 corolla seca sx conversion

More info needed. First and foremost, what's your budget? How much of the work are you able/willing to do yourself? What are you planning on doing with the car- is it just a tough street car or do you want to race it?
    Happiness is a warm Celica

Forum Member

Looking to do alot of the work myself, to be over time project so bugget isnt set nut around $10k willing to spend, just a street car.

Twisted ****** Backyard Mechanic .T.'s Avatar

so do you want to keep the 4ag? go supercharged or turbo? or something else?

"horse" has a beams 3sge conversion for sale that with a small amount of work would fit into the seca quite well.

Toby

Junior Member Grease Monkey MattC's Avatar

$10k will build you a killer 4A, leave change for suspension brakes and wheels, and save you the trouble of doing a conversion at all. Or as T says you'll wedge a BEAMS in with little hassle. If you really want something left-of-centre though, measure up a 2GR V6 from an Aurion, if you can squeeze one of them between the firewall and the grill you'll have a pretty mean little ride.
    Happiness is a warm Celica

Junior Member Grease Monkey

You could talk to Barry(Bazda) from Manon race Products about building an engine for you. He builds 4ag's to over 300kw.

Forum Member

This all sounds good lol but ultimately I want to do a lot of the work myself so I can learn as much as I can so I was thinking a 20 valve and putting a turbo and inter cooler setup so I'm not going too over my head unless I can find something better with not to much hassle for the install

Forum Member

I've done a little bit of research on the