Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: 2AZFE into AE86

Junior Member Backyard Mechanic

Default 2AZFE into AE86

Hi members.

Im new here.
    Im fitting a 2002 Toyota Camry 2azfe into my AE86 Aussie delivered shell.

I just joined up to share my work on this project and to look for some bits I need for it. Ive been driving a 20v AE71 for about 5 years now, so I am looking to have something with more power under me. I love instant throttle response. The idea with the 2azfe engine is to have an angry high comp engine with itbs and grunty cams so that whenever I need to explode forwards its just a tickle of the throttle away. I like to maintain the character of the original chassis which is known to be a great handler, so the exciting thing about the 2az is the light weight. It will weigh less than a 4age 20v engine package when I am done. The engine is a little lighter by itself. Its a great way to pick up 800ccs and no weight penalty.

The specification when complete will be as follows:

Shell:
    Rust repaired
    Flared to suit 15x8.5 neg offset wheels. Most likely Southern Ways or Fins.
    Glass Bonnet - Modified D MAX
    Glass Hatch
    Poly rear window
    Minimal Interior

Driveline:
    2002 2azfe engine - new
    Custom 11:1 Pistons - Carillo standard bore.
    Standard cams and retain vvti
    Silvertop ITBs on custom manifold with 95mm custom trumpets.
    Custom headers
    Adaptronic select ECU and custom wiring
    last gen celica radiator and fans
    W57 from an T142 Rona
    Brass shifter rebuild
    2azfe std clutch (9 inch I think)
    Custom tailshaft
    Mark 2 Rona diff - 7.5 inch
    Lexus Altezza torsen LSD centre - low miles. 3.9 ratio.

Custom work: