Thread: Auto transmission help?

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default Auto transmission help?

Hello everyone, I'm a bit noob to the forum and working on cars in general so forgive me if this is in the wrong place..

I've got an 82 Celica (RA60). I took my gearbox out a couple days ago to replace the bushes. I've put it all back together the way it was before I touched it, but now there's some issues. The shifter won't go down all the way when the gear knob is on. When I push it down with my finger it works fine but with the actual knob on it doesn't move. So I can't get it out of park.
    Also, the car thinks it's in reverse despite being stuck in park. I went through all the gears trying to start it, it started up in 3rd gear but then not again in any other gear (assuming that's the battery's fault - it's old and borked and needs to be charged after every start). I'm so confused because I thought auto cars only started in park..

So I've got a transmission that's stuck in reverse and a gear shifter that's stuck in park.
    Any ideas?
    I'm in the middle of painting the dash so a lot of things are unplugged.. not sure if that has anything to do with it but worth a mention I guess.

Default Re: Auto transmission help?

Alright so I did a bit more fiddling and I'm able to get the gears to match up , but when I get to drive it throws it out, as though it skips a gear. For example park on the gear selector will be park on the car, same with reverse and neutral. But when I put it into drive it pulls a lot and when I go back to park, the car will be in reverse again. I did this a few times, some times it was up one gear than it said on the selector, sometimes it was down a gear. Jacked the car up and I'm going to have a look underneath pretty soon, but not really sure what I should be looking for.

C2H5OH Powered Automotive Encyclopaedia George's Avatar