Thread: Twin turbo 1JZGTE or vvti single factory turbo 1JZGTE ???

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default Twin turbo 1JZGTE or vvti single factory turbo 1JZGTE ???

Hi, Im fairly new to Toymods and this is my first post, Im from NZ and have just got my hands on a 76 RA23 (my dream car and rare as rocking horse's sh*t over here) I have just sold my 4agze ke70 dx corolla sedan to help fund this project but its on to bigger and better things!. I am going to do a 1jzgte conversion into the RA23 along with tubbed rear end coil overs possibly IRS rear end or shortened hilux diff with 17x7 fronts and 17x10 rears ect ect..

I have been offered two 1JZGTE's the first is a factory twin turbo from a JZZ30 Soarer complete with w58 gearbox (161k km) the second is the newer factory single turbo VVT-I which i believe is from a jzx100 (94k km) with no gearbox.

My question is which 1JZGTE would you recommend? I know the km's is a big factor but its a mission to try find a w58 set up for a 1JZGTE over here without importing one from japan for upwards of $1900. Is there any benefits from either engine?

Any info and your opinions would be much appreciated!

Cheers - Matt

Default Re: Twin turbo 1JZGTE or vvti single factory turbo 1JZGTE ???

I have also found another 1JZGTE from a JZZ30 soarer (160k km) converted to single turbo with the following (quoted from auction) :
    1JZ GTE
    161000 kms
    custom made single turbo manifold
    custom turbo
    external wastegate

turbo and manifold have done a maximum of 15000ks

turbo specs:

T04Z
    P Trim Compressor
    ar .60 Compressor housing
    1.04ar Exhaust housing

Compressoer housing is Biagio
    Center is Garrett
    Exhaust housing is Garrett

This turbo was built to run 23psi constantly, and a max 32psi.

also comes with uncut engine loom and 1/2 of mac truck intercooler with piping.

No gearbox.

engine is coming out of my crashed toyota soarer (Damage was to rear of car).