Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

  1. #1
    Junior Member Grease Monkey
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    176

    Default MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

    Hey guys.

    I'm running a LINK ecu with my setup and i want to run the dash tacho as an output from the ecu. The problem is that the ecu will not drive the factory tacho as the original 7m run off the coil and provided a stronger signal then the LINK provides. The question i ask is, does anybody know how to modify the factory 7m tacho to accept the signal sent from the link. It would be exactly the same as modifying it to accept the 1j signal without a booster.

    Hope someone can help.
    MX83 Grande 1jz GT35R buildup here.
    http://www.toymods.net/forums/showth...ghlight=grande
    Some say that his heart has 6 cylinders. All we know, is he's called,

  2. #2
    Backyard Fabricator Automotive Encyclopaedia
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

    This is what Ray recommends when using a vipec:

    http://www.tfelectronics.com.au/bin/Tachoadaptor.gif

  3. #3
    KE70 7AGE Grease Monkey jet81j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

    this looks a bit simpler



    i didn't pull the relay apart i just hooked it to the coil and didn't use the other points.something i also found the relay was really noisy so i had to put the relay in the engine bay.

    this worked perfect for me but this was on a stock ke70 tacho and adaptronic computer but should be the same.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Carport Converter RA35GT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    1,820
    1977 RA35 Celica GT - I4 | 2007 GSV40R Aurion - V6
    Don't live life being scared of death, live in the fear of not truly living. RP 2012

  5. #5
    Junior Member Grease Monkey
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    176

    Default Re: MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

    i know i can make a signal booster but i remeber someone actually modifying the tacho to accept the new signal.
    MX83 Grande 1jz GT35R buildup here.
    http://www.toymods.net/forums/showth...ghlight=grande
    Some say that his heart has 6 cylinders. All we know, is he's called,

  6. #6
    Junior Member Grease Monkey
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    sa
    Posts
    119

    Default Re: MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

    yer, i had my tacho board replaced by gauge works.

    basically they modified the board in the tacho to work from the signal required.

    just send in your dash cluster.

    http://www.gaugeworks.com.au/contact_us.html

    also this way will be more accurate than making a adapter, i was told.

  7. #7
    Forum Sponsor Carport Converter TurboRA28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    1,916

    Default Re: MX83 tacho, aftermarket ecu????

    When using a coil from a relay, you are best to crack it open and cut the switching side off it so it isn't noisy.
    1977 RA28 Celica - 1MZ-FE Members Rides
    1996 FZJ80 Landcruiser.
    Email : [email protected]

Similar Threads

  1. makign a 1jz loom for aftermarket ecu
    By Disturbed1 in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 03:34 PM
  2. aftermarket ecu options for 4agte?
    By phil in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 02:25 AM
  3. 4 Cyl ---> 6 Cyl Tacho Swap.
    By Lambolica in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 30-01-2007, 10:36 AM
  4. 1jz Aftermarket Ecu
    By thommo in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 27-01-2006, 10:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •