Thread: ST184 Engine and transmission swap help

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default ST184 Engine and transmission swap help

Hi guys!

I just recently bought a 1992 Toyota Celica SX (ST184). It's unregistered, and has been in a bit of a crash. I got it for $450.

I've spent the last couple of months replacing body panels (thanks Warrior! ) and changing out all the worn and damaged joints and rods etc. I have no previous experience with cars, before I started this project all I had ever done was basic vehicle maintenance.

Now today, I started really digging into the car to try and figure out why the auto was so sluggish, and have discovered that it has a crack in the head gasket!

My understanding of this is that I practically have to replace the entire head of the motor, and that it's going to cost quite a bit to do.

This is where my question comes in: If I buy a newer, entire 5sfe motor and a manual transmission out of a Camry, will everything bolt up? Considering I have to change a lot out anyway, I figure it might be worth buying a newer engine, and also swapping it to manual if it's possible. Thoughts? Opinions? Suggestions?

Pics:
    As I bought it

As it stands now

Thanks in advance guys!
    Last edited by river; 21-02-2010 at 10:11 PM. Reason: fixed ambiguous title for a tech thread.

Default Re: Engine and transmission swap help

No one?

Hellooooooo? *Echoes*

Junior Member Backyard Mechanic

If it's the head that's cracked, you're right, it's going to cost you $$$.
    If it's just the head gasket, it's not a big deal to replace.

Fustrated DYI mechanic Automotive Encyclopaedia Omegaman's Avatar

you will probably pick up the same motor S/Hand, cheaper than just buying the head.
    then just replce the top half only in all else ok.
    As for another motor type, the budget must be there to achieve decent results.

I don't know yet whether or not it's a cracked head or a head gasket, all I know is water was collecting in a couple of cylinders.