Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    338

    Default How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    This refers to a 2JZGTE Aristo conversion with auto into a R31 skyline.

    I have a list of pinouts I want to use but I'm not sure what to do with them. In particular I want to get the overdrive button going. How do I connect this? Is it just a matter of earthing the pinout, or do I need to provide it with 12V+ or something else?
    Last edited by 2JZR31; 29-03-2006 at 11:28 AM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Carport Converter TA-022's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    1,616

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    depends on the car / gbox / motor.

    you'd have to give more detail for some1 to identify wether your particular case requires a voltage supply aor an earth...
    Black Betty >HERE!<

    (\__/)
    (='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
    (")_(") signature to help him gain world domination.

  3. #3
    Official Off Topic KING! Conversion King stradlater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Vic
    Posts
    2,118

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    Judging by his nick, I'd suggest that He's got a 2JZ auto in an r31 skyline.

    Not that that makes any difference to me, I still wouldn't know what's what.. That said, I'd imagine it's supply 12+ to the pin for overdrive.
    www.stradlater.com | Facebook | LinkedIn

    1976 RA23 Celica - 1UZFTE ???rwkw - Earlier: 11.6 @ 116.9mph But Now: ??
    2007 BMW 3.0Si Z4 Coupe - 195kW 0-100 5.7.....
    1996 VR Lexcen - Let the gearbox slippage begin...

  4. #4
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    Oops I forgot to clarify that. But yeah. 2JZ auto into R31.

    Can anyone thats played with this confirm its 12+ to the pin and not an earth?

  5. #5
    Official Off Topic KING! Conversion King stradlater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Vic
    Posts
    2,118

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    what difference will it make mate? Drive it and test it? If it's supposed to be a 12+ and you put ground on it, it won't go into overdrive, that's about it.

    no doubt a pain to do at 110kmph though
    www.stradlater.com | Facebook | LinkedIn

    1976 RA23 Celica - 1UZFTE ???rwkw - Earlier: 11.6 @ 116.9mph But Now: ??
    2007 BMW 3.0Si Z4 Coupe - 195kW 0-100 5.7.....
    1996 VR Lexcen - Let the gearbox slippage begin...

  6. #6
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    I was worried about blowing the ECU if I done it wrong.

  7. #7
    Official Off Topic KING! Conversion King stradlater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Vic
    Posts
    2,118

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    not if you give it ground.

    If you give it 12+ and it wasn't expecting it then I guess you maybe could
    but giving it ground is either going to result in nothing or it working.
    www.stradlater.com | Facebook | LinkedIn

    1976 RA23 Celica - 1UZFTE ???rwkw - Earlier: 11.6 @ 116.9mph But Now: ??
    2007 BMW 3.0Si Z4 Coupe - 195kW 0-100 5.7.....
    1996 VR Lexcen - Let the gearbox slippage begin...

  8. #8
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    What it if it needs to be grounded through a resistor to limit current (unlikely) but you get my drift, sometimes this stuff is not so obvious and I don't want to blow anything up.

  9. #9
    Toymods V8 Member Too Much Toyota CrUZida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    8,214

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    In my swap (1991 1UZ) the Overdrive switch EARTHs the ECU pin.
    But the PWR ECT switch give the ecu +12V.

    ECU has built-in resistors.

    http://www.conceptual.net.au/~peewee...3_wiring_2.gif
    Peewee
    1985 MZ12 Soarer - 1UZ Powered
    2013 86 GTS

  10. #10
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    Thanks mate! Legend

    What is the difference between the overdrive and ECT? I didn't even know about ECT but I just located 2 ECT pinouts on my list. "S2 - ECT No 2 Solenoid" and "S1 - ECT No 1 Solenoid" Has this got something to do with manual shifting? Becuase menual shifting does not work right on my setup yet.

  11. #11
    Toymods V8 Member Too Much Toyota CrUZida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    8,214

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    OverDrive is 4th gear
    PWR ECT is Power, ie, holds RPM till almost redline.
    Peewee
    1985 MZ12 Soarer - 1UZ Powered
    2013 86 GTS

  12. #12
    Toymods Pimp Chief Engine Builder Norbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    3,806

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    AFAIK the ECU switches the earth for pretty much everything.

  13. #13
    Junior Member Carport Converter SL666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ACT
    Posts
    1,809

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    FYI: we found it very hard to get the buttons working (or to be able to tell if they were working) until we had the trans shifting properly,

  14. #14
    Junior Member Backyard Mechanic
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    My trans shifs fine in D anways has (well after I fixed the TPS) I made a temporary swich to earth the OD pin and it works fine. Thanks guys It holds 3rd and drops out of 4th when I flick the switch. So that prob is over.

    However I thought that the OD switch also done the power shift function, which is what I really want to get going.

    Now with this ECT, I have 2 pinouts for 2 solenoids. "S2 - ECT No 2 Solenoid" and "S1 - ECT No 1 Solenoid" Does anyone know WTF is going on with that? And could this have something to do with my box not shifting down if I select gears manualy?

  15. #15
    Junior Member Carport Converter SL666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ACT
    Posts
    1,809

    Default Re: How to connect switches to switched pinouts on a toyota ECU?

    NFI..

    you do have the solenoid wires hooked up though yeah? and the selector wires are all there?

    i suggest putting a couple of LED's (and resistors) on the solenoid and lockup wires, we did this when we were mucking around to make sure the box was actually doing what we thought it was.. was surprising actually.

Similar Threads

  1. Injector flow figures website.
    By gemtoy in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-03-2006, 11:00 AM
  2. Front Shock Absorber Dimensions...
    By ed in forum Tech and Conversions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 18-10-2005, 12:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •