Thread: Help needed with JZA70 1JZ into MX83 wiring (custom wiring diagram inside)

Don't Trust Me I'm A Backyard Mechanic Jabtronic's Avatar

Default Help needed with JZA70 1JZ into MX83 wiring (custom wiring diagram inside)

Hi,
    I just replaced the 1JZ engine wiring loom in my cressida, and am redoing the wiring from scratch.. the wiring was previously done when I got the engine but wasn't done properly and I was having some electrical problems which is why I decided to do it again.

So anyway, there are plenty of guides on JXZ81 -> MX83 conversions and that's basically plug and play.. however the JZA70 loom (and plugs) are different, there's almost nothing written up for JZA70 -> MX83 so I'm doing it all myself and have run into a few things I'm unsure about.

So here's the diagram I've drawn up....

Keep in mind my car doesn't have aircon and I've got an R154 so all the A/C and A/T stuff can be ditched.

I've pretty much got the white plug sorted (dash lights etc), just not sure about a few things on the JZA70 IH1 plug, I've labeled it all so hopefully it's all pretty self explainatory? I've been using the japanese JZA70 wiring diagram to follow the wires from the IH1 plug but I'm still a bit confused. I just need some pointers on the FC and FP connections etc that I've labelled with question marks.

Here's the jza70 wiring
    http://www.jzgte.com/tech/1jzgte/1JZ...iring.v1.1.pdf

Any help would be greatly appreciated, cheers
    Last edited by Jabtronic; 07-01-2009 at 01:58 AM.

Backyard Fabricator Automotive Encyclopaedia

Default Re: Help needed with JZA70 1JZ into MX83 wiring (custom wiring diagram inside)

IH1 pin 6 is for fuel pump speed control, I'd have to look up my mx83 diagrams to determine what pin that needs connection to.

IH1 pin 4 is the actual "control" for the fuel pump, comes from the FC pin on the ECU. In the mx83 the AFM switched this circuit so you need to wire it to the MX83 grey plug pin 15