Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Resistor pack for low impedance injectors on 1JZ?

Don't Trust Me I'm A Backyard Mechanic Jabtronic's Avatar

Default Resistor pack for low impedance injectors on 1JZ?

Just wondering if anybody could give more info on resistor packs needed for low-impedance injectors on a 1JZ.

My mate Jake just bought some drop-in 550cc USDM 2JZ injectors (apparently.. except they're dark red instead of purple though so could just be off the shelf 550cc Denso's.. will find out soon) and so we will need to fit a resistor pack if they are indeed low-impedance.

I've been searching around on other forums, and aside from using the obvious (USDM 2JZ resistor pack), some people are saying that we could use a 7MGTE one, or we could make our own..

So does anybody have better info? I've been given this diagram

And here's the info I found about making your own resistor pack, we'd probably go this route as it will be cheapest but will have to check where to buy the resistors from.

http://www.supraforums.com.au/forum/...5&postcount=17

You need to buy six individual resistors that have the same specs. Those specs are available at this website:http://www.e-sonic.com/acc/products....command=detail

Renfrew axial wirebound resistor, type PW10.
    10 watts, 6R8 resistance.

If you cannot source them in Australia I will send them to you. They are about $2 each.

Here is how to assemble them.
    There is one common power wire in your car that comes into the SFI Resistor Pack. This wire is connected to one end of all six resistors. (Each resistor has a wire coming out of each end of it.) The resistors are parallel to each other like six lanes of traffic. The other end of each resistor connects to the wire going to each individual fuel injector.