Thread: 4AGE won't start

Roflcopter Pilot Backyard Mechanic thu187's Avatar

Default 4AGE won't start

Hey guys,
    Went to start her up yesterday but didn't have enough fuel so I got some but then my battery went flat. The alarm I've got will go off if the battery is flat because it thinks someone's pinched it.
    So today I heard it and got a mate to come over and jump start her and I went to crank it but now it won't start and the alarm starts going off as if the battery is flat. When the key is just on ACC the lights, stereo, everything else works so I'm a bit puzzled. I can't hear any clicking either (I did yesterday).
    Do you reckon it could be the starter motor? Or alternator?
    Big noob here so any help is appreciated.

Cheers
    [T]echnology is the only [R]eplacement for [D]isplacement

is the bestest Conversion King LeeRoy's Avatar

Default Re: 4AGE won't start

To start with if your battery is flat then whatever has made it go flat will need to be sorted out first so maybe youve left something on, havent started it in a while, or some other reason like your alternator might be on the way out. Probably a good idea to check the voltage in it to be sure.

To start with, check that the starter has power going to it which can either be done by using a multimeter or just get a mate to turn the key and listen for the solenoid popping out and engaging. I cant remember if theres a fuse for the starter but if there is then check that first.

How bright are your lights when you turn them on? If the lights are dim then it wont have enough juice to kick the engine over either.

If youve got enough juice but the starter wont budge then give it a whack with a hammer a few time as it will knock out any loose dust etc around the bushes/windings but if this is the case then its time for a reco or a new starter.
    Daily Driver: Red Ae93 Project: My TA22 - now with 3s-gte
    D is for Disco, E is for Dancing