Thread: 1JZ MX83 wiring problems - MAP sensor?

Don't Trust Me I'm A Backyard Mechanic Jabtronic's Avatar

Default 1JZ MX83 wiring problems - MAP sensor?

I'm almost finished converting a 1JZGTE into my series I MX83, just up to the part where i turn the key and expect the bastard to start.

The 1JZ was from a JZA70, but had already been converted into mumblezzz's Series II MX83.

I've swapped the engine and wiring straight from mumblezzz's written off cressy, his was a series II though and there was be one plug that had an extra wire (not related to engine stuff anyway I don't think, was the white plug for the dash cluster)

Anyway, when I crank the engine over, it starts and runs for a second or two then stalls. The fuel pump primes properly so I don't think thats the problem. I replaced the spark plugs and they all spark properly.

I have since checked the engine codes and got code 31. According to this http://mkiv.supras.org.nz/articles/engine_2_31.htm it means something to do with the MAP sensor?? (That page says AFM??) How do I go about checking this properly?

Anybody got any ideas on what else I can check? I'm a bit of a noob to the wiring stuff, I copied the wiring wire-for-wire from mumblezzz body plug as I was expecting it to simply.. plug and play.
    Now that I havn't got it running, I got a hold of the wiring diagrams and learnt how to read them etc.. but this has got me stumped.

I've been posting this on toyotacressida.net and have so far been recommended to check the MAP sensor, and check for leaking ECU capacitors. Will have a look this weekend but I don't know how to test the sensor.

Thanks

Default Re: 1JZ MX83 wiring problems - MAP sensor?

Also, I'm willing to pay someone who can get it running. I've got it booked into an autoelectrican on Wednesday but I don't know if he'll be able to do it or not. Will just be a waste of a tow if he can't.

I'm located on the Gold Coast.

User Conversion King