Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4A-FE - What's worth doing?

Junior Member Grease Monkey

Default 4A-FE - What's worth doing?

HI guys. I am a newbie on this site, just moved from fordlaser.com after buying an AE-101. I wanted to find out what sort of work is worth doing to this engine. Don't wont to go too far, probably 1G budget at the moment for the performance side of things, don't want to be pulling the engine apart or anything to that extent. Need to stay n/a - still on P's. Can do most work myself, so discount labour where you can. I eventually want to go the full rally look. Does anyone know where I can find pics and info if there was a rally version of this corolla? Search doesn't bring up anything much. Cheers guys!

7M-BHGE Automotive Encyclopaedia

Default Re: 4A-FE - What's worth doing?

Wont find many pics of Rally FWD's.

Only thing you can do is a 4A-GE transplant, which will be more than 1k - i think.
    Quote Originally Posted by skiddz
    deodorised fish oil = winnnaaaaaa, goodness of teh fishz but with out the smellz

Toymods Pimp Chief Engine Builder Norbie's Avatar

GE, GZE or 20v conversion is the go - I wouldn't waste too much time or money on a povo-spec 4A-FE.

Strange ****** Grease Monkey wraith's Avatar

You'll only legally be able to fit a 20v or late model gze. So in reality, your options consist of a silvertop or a blacktop- and depending on year, you might have to be selective about which silvertop. It's illegal to put an engine in that is older than the car. Though if your mechanically minded, you could probably stick a GE head/manifolds/etc on your current block, and that would probably be legitimate. A head swap would also be economically viable if you don't mind hunting around a bit. Billzilla seems to believe that there is potential in the 4AFE, though a cursory search didn't find any camshafts or similar. Maybe PM him for more info?

cheers

Ash