Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Aluminium Wheel Nuts - Use Care - Lost a wheel at 60km/hr today - stripped bolts PICS

Bodgepro Mechanic Grease Monkey Ghetto-Spec .:bayka:.'s Avatar

Unhappy Aluminium Wheel Nuts - Use Care - Lost a wheel at 60km/hr today - stripped bolts PICS

Hey Everyone, i thought this fitting enough to mention in "Tech & Conversions"

Ive been running VOLK immitation 16" rims with 205 tyres for the last 3 months using aluminium wheel nuts that came with them. I wasn't able to use my original nuts, these ones worked so i went on with my life and enjoyed the new wheels.

Safety Note - Dont fucking use fucking aluminium wheel nuts, just thought id set the record straight :/

All four bolts stripped off my front right wheel at 60km/hr on high road today, i lost the wheel, it thrashed about in the wheel arch for a second, denting the crap out of my quarter panel in the process, before flying off onto the other side of the road, hitting a curb and launching 15-20m into the air. Before i could enjoy this (admitedly hilarious sight) the car immediately slumped in the absense of a wheel and proceeded to slam my brake rotor into tarmac at 60 and grind an unforgettable chasm for about 20 meters down high road until i came to a complete and safe stop. I believe i handled the situation well and kept the car in my lane whilst i let it slide to a stop rather than risk a hard brake with only 1 front wheel.

After walking 40m to pick up the missing wheel, I managed to get the car jacked up and wheel back on using 1 bolt from each other wheel and drove home safely. Im purchasing steel nuts immediately. Anyone else with aluminium nuts should also do so

Cheers
    Daniel
    Last edited by Ghetto-Spec .:bayka:.; 17-10-2010 at 10:13 PM.

Junior Member Too Much Toyota oldcorollas's Avatar

Default Re: Aluminium Wheel Nuts - Dont Use - Lost a wheel at 60km/hr today - stripped bolts PICS

the nuts or the bolts stripped?

who'd have thought aluminium nuts would strip