Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: MA61 5me to 5mge conversion guide

Today Im a Domestic Engineer Enchanter's Avatar

Default MA61 5me to 5mge conversion guide

This is quite an easy conversion and is perfect for "your first engine conversion".
    The engine for this conversion is from a 1986 mx73 Cressida and assumes you have the whole box and dice to make the engine run including some of the plugs from the Cressida bay.

"It just bolts in"
    The gearbox will bolt straight up as will the engine mounts and exhaust,(you may need a new exhaust flange gasket). There is no need for a different clutch or flywheel, even the fan bolts up. So pulling the 5me out and putting the 5mge in is the "easy" part although dont think you will do it in a couple of hours unless you have experienced help, its a big job.

The AFM is different but it isnt too hard to swap the 5mge AFM onto the stock 5me airbox as the bolt spacing is identical, the hole from the box to the AFM will be too small but thats not too hard to fix. I also used the stock Cressida piping to the air box, it is a difficult fit but it will work. I did find a slight trim helped.

The fuel pump is switched through the AFM (Air Flow Meter), if there is no air passing through it the fuel pump will not run. This is so that if the engine stops for any reason, (accident etc) the fuel pump wont make matters worse by continuing to pump fuel.

There are two AFM plugs, the original 5me one that is part of the body loom and the 5mge one that is part of the engine loom. There is also a yellow 2 pin plug that should not be connected to anything.
    The 2 pin plug is the AFM fuel pump switch bypass used to check the opperation of the fuel pump without having to crank the engine over. Simply tap the fuel pump check connector wires into the same colored wires that run from the 5mge AFM plug wires. Dont forget to tape up the old AFM plug and tuck it out of the way.