Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: how to improve horsepower?

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default how to improve horsepower?

Hi all,
    I have just purchased my first car, it is a beatiful 1988 Toyota Celica ST 165.
    I am a bit new to working on my own car but i am looking for mods to improve it's horse power. I am only on my L's with my P's yet to come so surper or turbo charging are out of the question. Any and all ideas are welcome. Thanks in advance.

Junior Member Domestic Engineer Puffy's Avatar

Default Re: how to improve horsepower?

Copy below..... your car is a ST162, not ST165.

http://www.toymods.org.au/forums/sho...hlight=andrews
    Carlos Sainz has a Darkside and its in the form of # 13
    Click for pics http://toymods.net/forums/showthread...365#post539365

C2H5OH Powered Automotive Encyclopaedia George's Avatar

Think it's quite useful to get a reliable driving style so that you know you are faster than most of drivers around instead of trying to prove it.

As for the hardware it's better to get used to the car first. You may soon discover what you don't like about the engine (rough idle, lack of power in some modes, smoke at high revs etc). Because first thing in obtaining high power is to have engine in ideal condition prior to any improvements.
    USSR GAZ24 with 1UZ-FE VVTi (UCV24) http://www.toymods.org.au/forums/showthread.php?t=60301
    Engine conversion is when you drive a shitbox which costs a whole LEXUS to own

Least it doesnt snore Backyard Mechanic Gary's Avatar

search for direct exhaust injection, this has been discussed before
    JZX83
    UCF11

Junior Member Carport Converter Billzilla's Avatar

Put a lightweight alloy flywheel on it.
    www.billzilla.org
    Toymods founding member #3

Junior Member Automotive Encyclopaedia