Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP: 1GGTE running slow, Error code 11.. what is it? *FIXED*

Don't Trust Me I'm A Backyard Mechanic Jabtronic's Avatar

Default HELP: 1GGTE running slow, Error code 11.. what is it? *FIXED*

My 1G Soarer just started acting up tonight, it's idling ok (maybe 100rpm higher than usual), but it's extremely low on power and backfiring a lot. My boost gauge isn't indicating any boost leaks because it's still boosting fine up to 1bar. There's just no torque though and the engine is running slightly louder than usual, I could barely make it up my driveway

I checked the error codes and it brought up code 11 but I can't find 1GGTE error codes anywhere, can somebody link me please?

Gotta rush off to work now so I won't be able to take a better look at it until tomorrow. I'm thinking it's either the dizzy, sparkplugs/leads or AFM? I cleaned the ISCV 2 months ago.

Before it started playing up, it stalled on me once or twice during the week. And also the idle always fluctuates/misses a bit (however it isn't now.. it's idling maybe 100rpm higher than usual and is constant)

Any help would be appreciated cheers.

EDIT: I found that my distributor was loose! So the timing would have been way out...I've put it back to +10DTDC and it still runs slow Need more ideas

FINAL EDIT: It's been fixed! An autoelectrician found a short in the AFM wiring, which was overheating the ECU.
    Last edited by Jabtronic; 31-01-2009 at 01:19 PM.

Default Re: 1GGTE Error code 11.. what is it?

Ok now the car isn't starting, it starts slowly after cranking for 5 or more seconds and then comes to life but stalls shortly after. I can smell excess fuel so fuel pump doesn't seem to be the problem.

EDIT: Got it started, it started and was chugging along poorly (like it was on 5cyl) with a clicking noise coming from around the ISCV area (but not the ISCV.. maybe a spark plug lead??) and when I gave it a touch of revs it went back to a normal-ish idle.