Thread: 4ag wiring issue, power to ecu but no power out??

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice SLO-055's Avatar

Default 4ag wiring issue, power to ecu but no power out??

hey all
    i've got a very annoying problem, i've wired in my bigport 4ag to my ae86 as per how i've read in write ups and using a few wiring diagrams, all seems well, i've got power to the ecu from my two ign sources an one battery source, the ecu sees power fine, the issue is it isn't putting anything out, from my guess i should see some power at the distributor (a power, earth and signal wire would be the three coming out right??) but i've got nothing, iv'e got power to injectors but no pulse when cranking.
    i've wired in some a/m management systems before bit this is my first attempt at the standard ecu
    soo here i sit in hope that someone will post back saying 'hey flog bag, you haven't....' and it'll be a simple fix and all good, woot and all that.
    btw, i've tried another bigport ecu, another coil and ignitor, another distributor, but obviously my problem lies with my wiring somewhere...
    thanks again for your time, it's greatly apprecitated!!!!
    ed
    insert witty post here, to allow people to see how funny and intelligent i am, and how much they would like to be like me.

Junior Member Too Much Toyota oldcorollas's Avatar

Default Re: 4ag wiring issue, power to ecu but no power out??

ECU shouldn't give much power out? except maybe for TPS?

the ECU grounds the injectors.

it receives a voltage/signal from the O2, the AFM/MAP, but it should send out voltage to the temp sensors. (and maybe 5V to the AFM/MAP?)

for dizzy, the power comes from the ignitor? and ECU only receives a pulse or grounds ignitor to fire? or does it send pulse to ignitor?

anyway, check the temp sensor power out first? then MAP?
    "I'm a Teaspoon, not a mechanic"
    "There is hardly anything in the world that a man can not make a little worse and sell a little cheaper" - John Ruskin (1819 - 1900)