Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 21r-c to 22r-e

Forum Member 1st year Apprentice

Default 21r-c to 22r-e

hey every one im a noob, i have recently purchased a ra60 celica with the 21r-c motor (bus motor) it has a two into one extractor system on it and i think that i want to put in a 22r-e (dont want to put in a 1g or other) i was wondering if the same exhaust will bolt on, also what would be the best vehicle to rob a 22 out of, any info would be great.

ps. does any one know the torque wrench settings for the head bolts on the 21r

Rest in Peace Conversion King ViPeR_NiPPleX's Avatar

Default Re: 21r-c to 22r-e

dont do it. personal experience

from memory head bolt torque setting for 21R was around 65pounds

was the 22 dissapointing??? (even after the 21r [67 kw])

when u realise that they are both piles of truck boat anchor crap, you soon look for engines which were designed to operate above 4,000 while halfway to building a peak power figure

trust me, its not worth the dollars.

what do you want to do with the car?

well right now its a daily driver while i finnish my project car but i really like it (the only reason i wanted to put in the 22 was to occupy myself a bit and cos the 21 drinks half a bottle of oil a day) i would like to drift and circuit with my friends cars so it kinda needs some thing better than 4000 rpm

well forget anything R series... apart from the 18R-G

Would you consider a 1G? it's quite likely the best option considering availability/performance/cost/reliability/efficiency/etc.

my room mate has an aw11 mr2 and wants me too (wants competition i think) i suppose thats prolly what i will do in the long run, the only problem i have now is stopping the 21 from leaking like a commodore

can you identify where the oil is coming from? rear main/ front main, back of the head... sump plug loose??